Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award

The Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award has been presented each season since 1987-88 to the Rangers player who goes above and beyond the normal call of duty, and is named in honor of paralyzed New York City police officer Steven McDonald.

Mats Zuccarello was named recipient of the award for 2013-14. Zuccarello leads the Rangers in points, is tied for the team lead in assists, ranks second in goals and power play assists, is tied for second in plus/minus rating (plus-11) and power play points, third in game-winning goals, and fifth in power play goals this season.

Here are the past winners:

Mats Zuccarello 2013-14
Ryan Callahan 2012-13
Ryan Callahan 2011-12
Brandon Prust 2010-11
Ryan Callahan 2009-10
Ryan Callahan 2008-09
Brandon Dubinsky 2007-08
Jed Ortmeyer 2006-07
Henrik Lundqvist 2005-06
Jed Ortmeyer 2003-04
Mathew Barnaby 2002-03
Sandy McCarthy 2001-02
Sandy McCarthy 2000-01
Adam Graves 1999-00
Adam Graves 1998-99
Wayne Gretzky 1997-98
Brian Leetch 1996-97
Mark Messier 1995-96
Mark Messier 1994-95
Adam Graves 1993-94
Adam Graves 1992-93
Adam Graves 1991-92
Jan Erixon 1990-91
John Vanbiesbrouck and Kelly Kisio 1989-90
Tony Granato 1988-89
Jan Erixon 1987-88
Steven McDonald